Kate Whitsby „Mail Order Bride Audrey – A Clean Historical Mail Order Bride Story“ (Brides Of Montana # 2) -1*

23290853I do not give up a book very often but it happens. With this one I stopped reading after 30 percent. It was a freebee on Amazon a couple of weeks ago and I thought let’s try something new, something with Cowboys and the Wild West. Maybe it’s not my genre? Maybe it was too little romance and steamy erotic for me?

Honestly thinking back I am not even sure if I can tell the first 30 percent clearly because I fell asleep that often during it. Everybody who knows me I go through books pretty quickly even when I am busy with work because it’s my way to “chill”.

This one is the 2nd book of the “Brides of Montana” series and the female lead seems to be who got married to Owen after he ordered her. In the 1st 30 percent we learn a little about her past for example that she learned how to ride at her home place and that she came from money, at least what it seems to me. One day she is working like a man the heard on their annual drive to the auction in Helena (at least I think). Of course things happen, of course the wheel of the carriage breaks while Audrey is driving it. Of course stuff like that happens again and again and always it’s Audrey who has the solution.

Maybe the writer wants to tell the story of a strong and independent woman but Audrey isn’t interesting. She’s no bluestocking, nothing like that. She knows how to ride a horse because of her family and she knows to be independent. But well that doesn’t make a strong and interesting character to me. It’s a normal one, a usual 0815 female lead. And even her marriage to Owen isn’t interesting. The romance scenes are so extremely “steam less” in the first 30 percent of the book that I decided to read the latest Jess Michaels instead.

Stars: 1*

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar