Looking back – Reading in 2014

I think that buying my Kindle kind of changed my reading habits plus 50 Shades of Grey. Well I read the first parts in German together with a coworker of mine – I’d say we have had a lot of fun because nobody would think that we both read them. We also read everything juicy from Sylvia Day in late 2013 and 2014 but then I changed from those „real time“ books towards Regency romance. I always had a think for the 19th century – since I was a pretty young teen. Always in the love with the Wild West.

I think my first one was a freebie by Sara Ramsey. She got me into it. I went through her series pretty quickly, tried a few others and now have found my pool of favorite writers. Of course first to list are Jess Michaels and Kate Pearce. I simply say: wow. I like it naughty. But there are several other out there I really enjoyed reading.

I think my favorites this year were:

  • Jess Michaels: A Moment of Passion (Ladies Book of Pleasure #2)
  • Kate Pearce: Simply Insatiable (House of Pleasure #5)
  • Jess Michaels: A Matter of Sin (The Ladies Book of Pleasure #1)
  • Lorraine Heath: Waking up with the Duke (London’s Greatest Lovers #3)
  • Isabella Bradford: A Sinful Deception (Breconridge Brothers #2)
  • Jennifer Ashley: The Duke’s Perfekt Wife (MacKenzies & McBrides #4)
  • Sharon Cullan: His Saving Grace (Secrets & Seductions #4)
  • Ava Archer Payne: The Wedding Bed
  • Kate Pearce: Mastering a Sinner (The Sinners Club #3)
  • Anne Stuart: Never Marry a Viscount (Scandal at the House of Russel #3)
  • Delilah Marvelle: Master of Pleasure (School of Gallantry #5)
  • Jess Michaels: Everything Forbidden (Albright Sisters #1)
  • Sara Ramsey: Duke of Thorns (Heiress Games #1)
  • Samantha Kane: Tempting a Devil (The Saint’s Devils #2)

any many more.

But there were also others. I never read anything dark as Pepper Winters but she sucked me into the world of Jethro and Nila in her „Indebted“ series. I do not know how to describe it. She has a way with words, a way with characters and to make her books addictive. I have only read the first two books of the series so far but I can say that those are amazing – completely different from what I read before. They simply cant be compared.

I read 98 books for pleasure last year, 25 for work. I think I set my goal straight to 100 for 2015. Hopefully I will find the time and the right books to reach it but thanks to Netgalley I think it will be possible.

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar